News archive
Media Releases

From the BC Ministry of Jobs, Tourism and Innovation

VICTORIA – The provincial government is taking steps to further encourage business immigrants to invest in communities in regional B.C. through the BC Provincial Nominee Program.

This is one of a series of steps as part of a commitment in ‘Canada Starts Here - The BC Jobs Plan’ to attract more entrepreneurs from other countries to help create jobs regionally.

The BC Provincial Nominee Program (BC PNP) provides accelerated permanent resident status to entrepreneurs and qualified workers based on labour market and...

Media Releases

Abbotsford, BC, 11 August 2011. "We want to set the record straight and assure British Columbians that their health and safety is of paramount concern in the production of food in BC and that people will not be put at risk," says Nico Human, CEO of the BC Food Processors Association, referring to the story “Ottawa Dumps Meat Inspection on British Columbia,” posted on 10 August 2011 on the Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC) Food Safety First website.

Human leads the BC Food Processors Association ( ), a not-for-profit...

Media Releases

Vancouver, B.C., July 26, 2011. The BC Food Processors Association is pleased to announce the appointment of its new Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee for 2011/12 consists of:

Dave Eto , President and Board Chair, Premium Brands Peter Higgins , First Vice-Chair, Purdy’s Chocolates Davis Yung , Second Vice-Chair, Fresh Direct Produce Ltd. Robin Smith , Past Chair, BC Dairy Foundation Chris Ball , Secretary, Reliance Insurance Pieter Vanderpol , Treasurer, Vanderpol Food Group Stan Rogers , MTAP Steering Committee Chair, Superior Freeze Dry
Media Releases

Abbotsford, BC, June, 2011 .

Vanderpol Food Group received the BC Food Processors Hall of Fame Award at FoodProWest on Thursday June 9th, 2011. The Leadership Award went to Yves Potvin of Garden Protein International , and the Rising Star Award to Vikram Vij of Vij’s Inspired Indian Cuisine , while Sunrise Soya was awarded the Sustainability Award . Two new awards were added this year: Bill Vanderkooi of Nutriva Group received the Innovation Award , and the Member of the Year Award was awarded to KPMG .

Hall of Fame Award:

The Vanderpol Food Group is a family...

Media Releases

The Boards of the Western Canadian Functional Food & Natural Health Product Network (WCFN) and the BC Food Processors Association (BCFPA) are happy to announce that, after the dissolution of the WCFN, its BC members will be accommodated within the BCFPA.

"We are pleased to be able to partner with the BCFPA,” said Kelley Fitzpatrick, WCFN Board Chair. “The synergies between the two organizations will provide value to both sets of members and significant opportunities for joint developments”.